Notifications
Clear all

Supports for Supports  

RSS
Redshift
(@redshift)
Supports for Supports

I am new to 3D printing and Prusaslicer and it is possible that this topic has been discussed but I don't know enough to have recognized it.  I am using Prusaslicer 2.2 with good success in general but I have run into a problem with a print job due to tall and ultimately unstable supports.  I am using the auto-generate supports (everywhere) with success except for this one problem area.  The print is of a rearing horse and the taller supports in front (for the skinny legs and hooves) keep breaking loose and ultimately ruining the job.  I have tried re-inforcing the base of the support ("enforce support for the first... 10 layers" under Print Settings).  I think I can solve the problem if I can add a support enforcer between the two auto-generated support columns.  Since I am using the "everywhere" mode of support generation, can I also add a custom support enforcer to connect the two auto-generated columns?  I guess my question really is can I add custom supports to auto-generated supports ("everywhere")?  When I try to do this and then re-slice, the auto-generated supports show up but the custom support does not.    I have added photos to this post to help describe my issue.  Hope someone can help.  If I posted this in the wrong place, I apologize.

This topic was modified 4 years ago by Redshift
Posted : 16/06/2020 12:52 am
JoanTabb
(@joantabb)
Veteran Member Moderator
RE: Supports for Supports

Have you tried a Raft? maybe three layers?

I try to make safe suggestions,You should understand the context and ensure you are happy that they are safe before attempting to apply my suggestions, what you do, is YOUR responsibility. Location Halifax UK

Posted : 16/06/2020 1:22 am
jsw liked
Redshift
(@redshift)
Topic starter answered:

@joantabb