Clear all

PrusaSlicer Missing Perimeters  

RSS
OutlawECHO
(@outlawecho)
Eminent Member
PrusaSlicer Missing Perimeters

Hi all,

I am pretty new to the 3D printing world, so please forgive my terminology. I will try to explain my issue while showing images and a .3mf file to hopefully lead the conversation.

Basically when I slice a model (and I am finding this in almost all models I slice, there are obvious small voids in the perimeter of each layer.

I am using basically standard settings: 0.20mm quality, Prusament PLA, and Original Prusa Mini. Also, note that these voids show up on the actual print as well. Find the .3mf attached. PRUSA.3mf

I would appriciate any help

Best Answer by Neophyl:

Thats the seam.  Its where the start and end of a perimeter are.  If your printer and filament are tuned correctly the actual printed seam can be minimised but you cant ever fully remove it.  Depending on the slicer settings it can either be aligned or rear etc but the PS default puts them in corners which looks like what its doing on your slice.

Posted : 16/09/2020 7:51 pm
Neophyl
(@neophyl)
Illustrious Member
RE: PrusaSlicer Missing Perimeters

Thats the seam.  Its where the start and end of a perimeter are.  If your printer and filament are tuned correctly the actual printed seam can be minimised but you cant ever fully remove it.  Depending on the slicer settings it can either be aligned or rear etc but the PS default puts them in corners which looks like what its doing on your slice.

Posted : 16/09/2020 8:01 pm
OutlawECHO
(@outlawecho)
Eminent Member
Topic starter answered:

@neophyl

Thank you for the reply. That makes sense. I guess I thought that the seam would change in the slicer if I changed settings. Anyway, any tips on how to prevent the seam from showing up in my prints? Where do I start? I do not see a setting that jumps out to me? Is this tied to wipe or retraction?

Here are a couple of examples. These marks are at the seam showed in slicer.