Clear all

eSun ePA-GF - weird hue changes on layers  

Page 1 / 2
  RSS
jmone
(@jmone)
Reputable Member
eSun ePA-GF - weird hue changes on layers

I've had great success with eSun's ePA-CF (Nylon Carbon Fibre) and just got a roll of their new ePA-GF (Nylon Glass Fibre).  I did a print straight from the pack and it was the expected cream colour but it was also clearly no fully dry as the finish was a bit "wooly" and stringy.  So to dial in my settings, I started playing with Temp, Retraction settings after drying the filament for 12hrs @ 70c. 

Oddly, I now have prints that are more yellow but there are also bands of different hues.   These bands align across prints so it is not uneven drying of the filament itself (though I have put the roll into my 0%RH dry cabinet and will then dry again @ 70c).  I figured it must be temp related but it is the same @ 240c, 250c, 260c.  Given these bands line up across prints, and seems to be related to changes in geometry of the Benchy, I'm guessing my filament is still not dry enough...... or there is some combination of Fan, Speed, Temp at these layer heights.

Here is a pic (from Left to Right, Dried 240, Dried 250, Dried 260, Straight from Packet 260)

Posted : 01/11/2019 9:49 pm
Aureum Locus
(@aureum-locus)
Trusted Member
RE: eSun ePA-GF - weird hue changes on layers

Hmmm. Interesting.  I have just received a roll of ePA-GF and will report here once I have tested it.

Posted : 02/11/2019 5:10 am
jmone
(@jmone)
Reputable Member
Topic starter answered:

So getting there - Did a few cycles of Heat to 70c for an hour or so --> Vacuum Chamber.  Much dryer now.  I can still pick out some changes in colour but if it was like this out of the box I would not have noticed.  I'll give it another round tomorrow but it is pretty well sorted now.  Like with the eSun ePA-CF, this ePA-GF is tough (hard to even snap of the funnel), a bit of flex, little stringing.  Overall another good engineering filament option.