Clear all

Is the MMU2 "ready" and worth it?  

Page 4 / 6
  RSS
cwbullet
(@cwbullet)
RE: Is the MMU2 "ready" and worth it?
Posted by: @ssill2

I will also add that the prusa could do better here with communicating with it's users.   There are numerous outstanding issues against the mmu firmware project on github yet it hasn't be committed to in 2 years.  Causing some to ask if it's abandoned.

They have been in business for years.  I doubt it is gonna happen.  

--------------------
Chuck H
3D Printer Review Blog

Posted : 07/05/2021 9:06 pm
ssill2
(@ssill2)
Noble Member

@cwbullet

I was trying to give you a solid reasoning behind my opinion 🙂  I just watched the most recent prusa live,  they did mention a complete refactor of the mmu firmware.  That's code for it's going to be a while 🙂  I write software for a living so I get the complexity involved, especially for something written in C/C++.  And that's fine, but realistically for most folks that have had a good experience with the base printer, they're going to be fairly disappointed in the MMU experience.

Posted : 07/05/2021 9:15 pm
Baklin
(@baklin)
Reputable Member
Posted by: @wfvn

The movement of the 'arm' in and out the IR-sensor is way too little. An arm which is twice as long should solve the problem with ease. But a chimney twice as high as it is now doesn't seem a good idea to me so another solution is needed. I'm still thinking about it.

This was posted today on PrusaPrinters.

https://www.prusaprinters.org/prints/66215-tzb-mk3smk25smmu2s-extruder-mmu2s-no-tower-v3

He doesn't give much info there, but looking at the files it looks like it uses an higher ratio for the movement of the sensor arm. And there is a hole in the bondtech door to add a grub screw for adjustment.

This is the only picture I could fine quickly that shows the parts installed.(this is an older version he made)

Posted : 08/05/2021 6:15 pm
ssill2
(@ssill2)
Noble Member

@baklin

Wow nice.   might be worth a shot.