Notifications
Clear all

Getting a MMU2 to print without reloading filaments  

RSS
Chris
(@chris-17)
Getting a MMU2 to print without reloading filaments

Had a 3MKs working fine, wanted multiMaterial unit. Trying to get a reliable print before putting into Ikea enclosure.

I am using a coated copper .4mm tip from 3-D, and only printing in PETG

Nightmare, I think it's the tips. Really confused over the PETG filament settings, I have looked at all of the videos I can find. I am only using prusament PETG filaments. some people say to change the cooling stages, some the temperature, and one in this section hints at the drag of the filaments causing the issue, which may be right if you look at the grey filament 3.

Any suggestions would be helpful...

Posted : 08/11/2020 7:28 pm
Robin
(@robin)
Prominent Member
RE: Getting a MMU2 to print without reloading filaments

Hi Chri,

I am also new to this (got my MMU2 assembled 2 weeks ago and my first perfect multicolor print done yesterday) and had similar problems. I am also using prusament PETG with the unmodified settings in slicer. In my case it turned out to be (as you also suspect) to much drag in the system, making the extruder losing steps, resulting in similar faulty prints (strings and holes).
My troubleshooting process was: 

1) Get rid of all PTFE tubes between filament-spool and MMU. I fed the filament directly into the MMU -> prints where perfect.
2) Added the buffer, did not connect the tubes to MMU -> prints still perfect
3) reattached the tubes to MMU -> problems as before.

What I did:

1) adjusted all screws on the buffer to minimize drag (basically loosen everything quite a bit)
2) printed and installed this adapter on the MMU https://www.thingiverse.com/thing:3233579

after that, everything worked like a charm. I printed my first flawless multicolor lizard with 168 tool changes and no load-failure and no holes and strings.

If at first you don't succeed, skydiving is not for you.