Notifications
Clear all

Tips for printing at 295°C with max bed temperature  

RSS
Caroline
(@caroline)
Tips for printing at 295°C with max bed temperature

Hi all,

I'm relatively new to 3D printing and I have just mounted my first MK3S which so far prints like a charm. For my MSc project I will eventually need to print a polymer (Vectra) that has been printed before on an Ultimaker with some modifications at 295°C. So my question is simple:

What modifications should I do on the stock MK3S to be able to reach this extruding temperature safely?

The datasheet says you can print at temperatures up to 300°C, but I've also read that the stock thermistor doesn't perform well at these temps - and at the same time I've read that the PT100 thermocouple wasn't supported by Prusa (not much more info: https://www.reddit.com/r/prusa3d/comments/9infon/how_to_set_up_pt100_on_a_mk3/?depth=2 ). So is the stock thermistor really to be changed, and if yes, what alternatives are there?

I also foresee that even in the case that I wouldn't need to change any hardware (that would be cool but I doubt it),  the fact that I'll be printing close to the limit temperatures would provoke a lot of Overheating warnings. Should I change something in the firmware to avoid this?

Another question that I have is the maximum bed temperature. Is the 120°C max. in the data sheet a reliable value to reach and maintain without damaging anything? 

Thanks for your tips and thoughts! 

Posted : 07/05/2019 4:55 pm
Chocki
(@chocki)
Prominent Member
RE: Tips for printing at 295°C with max bed temperature

I have recently been printing Rigid.Ink polycarbonate at 295 Deg C and bed temperature of 110.

295 is the highest the Prusa can go in stock form and getting the bed temperature above 115 took forever. This is without an enclosure.