Notifications
Clear all

What is the trick with PETG?  

RSS
SteyrTMP
(@steyrtmp)
What is the trick with PETG?

I've been printing on and off since 2017.  PLA, PLA+, no problems.  ABS, no major issues.  I have gauge plates in my car that were printed in ABS.  I started printing with TPU, and after a little bit of a struggle, was able to get it to print pretty well, printing masks and holster paddles.

PETG, that's another story.  I can get some smaller things to print without an issue, but large prints, with a lot of supports, go nowhere.  I'm on my 6th or 7th try, most of a spool later, and it still looks like it's going to fail again.

I'm going to attach a lot of photos, showing the part, my next fix for it, and the settings I am currently running.  I've tried .3 first layer with .15 Z modification, and that was a flop.  I went back to standard setup, with my Z zeroed in pretty well, from the look of things. 

Apparently, I can only link one file at a time, so the responses will be other photos, if it'll allow.

Posted : 22/06/2020 4:06 pm
SteyrTMP
(@steyrtmp)
Topic starter answered:
RE: What is the trick with PETG?

An earlier failed first pass.  I run them very slow.  While they're already slowed down to 20mm/s on Slic3r, I dial them down even further down to 60% or less on the printer, as well.  I tend to crank up the extrusion percentage, from 95% to 100% or 105%/

Posted : 22/06/2020 4:09 pm
SteyrTMP
(@steyrtmp)
Topic starter answered:

This is a contact surface, on top of some supports.  This is an issue, not just limited to PETG, but I have this with everything.  I have yet to have a decent, smooth supported surface.  The best I can get is a semi-stringy surface.  That would be with a .15 separation between support and part surface.

Posted : 22/06/2020 4:11 pm
SteyrTMP
(@steyrtmp)
Topic starter answered: