Notifications
Clear all

Trouble with D&D Miniatures  

RSS
laura.johnston
(@laura-johnston)
Trouble with D&D Miniatures

I am a high school librarian, and I run the D&D club - my students want to print miniatures, and we haven't had a lot of success. Details aren't coming out great, breaking off supports ends up breaking off limbs/swords. I'm not a 3D hobbyist - managing the 3D printer is one of a hundred things I have to do in a day - so I'm having a hard time navigating some of the lingo and forums and conflicting advice. I'm hoping someone can give me some straightforward advice. 🙂

We have an i3 MK3, we have PLA filament, and we use the newest version of Slicr from the PRUSA website.

I appreciate any advice - I don't want my lack of expertise to slow down my students. Thanks!

Posted : 28/02/2020 6:35 pm
--
 --
(@)
Illustrious Member
RE: Trouble with D&D Miniatures

Post up a few more details about the hardware and settings: like what size nozzle are you using, temps and profiles being used, etc.  Personally, I'm not a miniature expert, but there are many here that print them with rather high quality.  Most start by changing the nozzle from 0.4-mm to 0.25-mm - or smaller.  The it comes down to adjusting profiles to optimize for smaller prints.

And, photos of your less than satisfactory prints will be very helpful.

Posted : 29/02/2020 1:23 am
Mike Daneman
(@mike-daneman)
Estimable Member

Generally printing miniatures is one of the trickier things to do on an FDM 3D printer.  It took me a quite a few tries to get them to come out right. I have some advice:

1. Use Cura rather than Prusa Slicer.  I had all kinds of trouble with PS supports failing on miniatures, but Cura supports are always rock solid.

2. Turn on support interface - it'll give better surface and make it easier to remove supports.

3. Use 100% infill.

4. Use 0.070mm layer height.  it's a bit less prone to clogs and other problems than 0.050mm and give more than enough resolution.