NOOB Seeking Filament Recommendation (need flexible, don't need stretchable, need water proof))

Notifications
Clear all

NOOB Seeking Filament Recommendation (need flexible, don't need stretchable, need water proof))  

RSS
BobG
 BobG
(@bobg)
Eminent Member

For my first prints I'd like to use Prusa filaments but the shipping costs are just too high.  So I am looking for a filament which will ship from the US.  What I want to make is a simple 5-sided box, open on the top.  The dimensions are 3 1/8" x 3 1/8" and 2 1/4" deep.  The box will be used inside of the pictured woven ceramic basket.  The flexibility is required so that it can be put into place, because the basket handle gets in the way. 

I'd like to avoid supports so I hope to find something which is flexible but firm enough so that the sides do not collapse. I'd like to make the sides no more than 1/8" thick.  And since I am brand new to this I'd like a filament that's easy to work with.

Thanks,  Bob

Thanks,  Bob

USA / PA / 17821 : Fusion 360 > PrusaSlicer > Prusa MK3S

Posted : 09/08/2020 1:02 am
JoanTabb
(@joantabb)
Veteran Member Moderator
RE: NOOB Seeking Filament Recommendation (need flexible, don't need stretchable, need water proof))

Sainsmart TPU should be ok for you... 
there is a ready made profile, in Prusa Slicer, for this filament!

it's flexible, but not floppy. 1/8 inch thick may be a bit thick,  
Ideally you do not want it thick enough to generate infill

regards Joan

I try to make safe suggestions,You should understand the context and ensure you are happy that they are safe before attempting to apply my suggestions, what you do, is YOUR responsibility. Location Halifax UK

Posted : 09/08/2020 12:21 pm
BobG
 BobG
(@bobg)
Eminent Member
Topic starter answered:
RE: NOOB Seeking Filament Recommendation (need flexible, don't need stretchable, need water proof))
Posted by: @joantabb

Sainsmart TPU should be ok for you... 
there is a ready made profile, in Prusa Slicer, for this filament!