What is settings priority in Print/Filament/Printer Settings?

Notifications
Clear all

RSS
Hooch
(@hooch)
Trusted Member

Hi,

I'm very new to 3D printing. I had 1 printer before that I used for short time.
Now I'm playing with settings in PrusaSlicer.

What is the priority of settings in those 3 sections Print/Filament/Printer.

Example:
If I have different Max Volumetric Speed defined in Print and Filament settings.
Print Settings 15 - Filament Settings 1 -> It will take 1 from Filament Settings.
Print Settings 1 - Filament Settings 15 -> It will take 1 from Print Settings.

This looks like it takes slower value from both settings.

Is this for all settings? How it works for other settings?

Second example:
My default printer profile has Layer Height Limit set to min: 0.07 and max: 0.25

BUT. When slicing with 0.3 layerheigh it has no problem creating 0.3 layer height. So what is this setting in printer profile for, if it doesn't limit what can be generated anyway?

Posted : 02/11/2020 11:39 am
lauramiller199846
(@lauramiller199846)
RE: What is settings priority in Print/Filament/Printer Settings?

I faced similar kind of issue last time, I am still searching for some proper solution Same issue still no fix to this.

Posted : 05/11/2020 11:19 am
JoanTabb
(@joantabb)
Veteran Member Moderator

Hi Hooch, Laura, 
Have you looked in the Prusa Slicer Userguide? 

https://help.prusa3d.com/en/article/general-info_1910

regards Joan

I try to make safe suggestions,You should understand the context and ensure you are happy that they are safe before attempting to apply my suggestions, what you do, is YOUR responsibility. Location Halifax UK

Posted : 05/11/2020 7:09 pm
Vojtěch Bubník
(@vojtech-bubnik)
Member Admin

1) the minimum is taken.

2) 

: My default printer profile has Layer Height Limit set to min: 0.07 and max: 0.25