Under-extrusion after nozzle change  

Page 1 / 2
  RSS
Carol
(@carol-2)
Eminent Member
Under-extrusion after nozzle change

Hi people, 

Total novice here so any advice appreciated. 

Been happily printing on MK3S since October with no issues. Changed the nozzle a couple of days ago and since then it's been under-extruding. 

When the filament is first loaded I can see that it extrudes perfectly. But when I run a first layer calibration test or try to print something it's obviously under-extruding. 

We have cleaned the nozzle and did a cold-pull. There does not appear to be any blockages. The gears and the fan all appear fine. 

Don't think it's anything to do with the filament as we have tried different filaments and all have the same issue. 

Is there anything else obvious that we can try? I feel like pulling my hair out! 

Thanks 

Posted : 26/01/2021 9:57 pm
Diem
 Diem
(@diem)
Illustrious Member
RE: Under-extrusion after nozzle change

Is the new nozzle the same diameter as the old one?

If you change the size you must tell the slicer so it can calculate how much flament to feed.

Cheerio,

Posted : 27/01/2021 1:27 am
Carol
(@carol-2)
Eminent Member
Topic starter answered:

@diem

Thanks for your response. 
Yes, the new nozzle is same as old (0.4) and in fact we went back to the old one to try that and the same problem exists. 
We’ve also tried upgrading to latest firmware but that too has not made a difference. 

The fan shroud printed part was slightly damaged when changing the nozzle. It still sits in place and appears to be fine but I wonder if this could be having an impact? 

Thanks. 

Posted : 27/01/2021 7:44 am
JoanTabb
(@joantabb)
Veteran Member Moderator

Is filament escaping over the top of the heatblock? often when people change a nozzle, they do not tighten the nozzle against the heatbreak, leaving a small gap where filament can leak out. 

regards Joan