Notifications
Clear all

[Solved] IR Sensor Not Working -- Extremely Low Signal Voltage  

RSS
mr-doofus
(@mr-doofus)
IR Sensor Not Working -- Extremely Low Signal Voltage

While I'm saving up for an Original Prusa, I have been heavily modding what used to be an Ender 3 (mainly just because I like tinkering rather than any real need). My latest mod involved completely replacing the X, Z, and E axes with the MK3s design and cheap cloned parts. Everything works as expected except for the IR sensor. I am a mechanical engineer, not electrical, so I know just enough to drive myself insane trying to figure out why the IR sensor isn't working as intended. 

Expected Results:

- No filament present causes ~+5V from out/signal to ground

- Filament present causes ~0V from out/signal to ground

Actual Results:

- No filament present causes +0.01V from out/signal to ground

- Filament present causes 0V from out/signal to ground

I am using Marlin 2.0 firmware with an SKR Mini E3 V1.2, so the first things I check were that I set up the supply voltage and signal pins correctly. Using a multimeter, I confirmed that the IR sensor was correctly connected to +5V and ground. Then I used Pronterface and the M119 command to confirm that the signal pin was triggered correctly by shorting out the signal pin to +5V on the IR sensor. Next, I delved into looking at the on board circuit of the IR sensor. As I understand it,  the IR sensor works by a switching MOSFET. Drain is connected to signal, source is connected to ground, and gate is connected to the photosensor. When the photosensor is not blocked, the gate should be around 0V and when blocked, the gate should be around +5V. This should open and close the MOSFET which in turn supplies the signal output with ~0V or ~+5V which can then be interpreted by the mainboard.