Can't print PETG without damaging bed, now X axis is shot?

Notifications
Clear all

RSS
Kate
 Kate
(@kate-4)

Hi all.

Ive been using my MK3S happily with PLA for two months or so now. Ive done loads of big prints on it no problem. In fact id say the print quality is downright spectacular.

Recently i got involved with MasksForDocs, and printed a bunch of face shields for hospitals. I was printing 8 Prusa RC3 shields on my printer at a time no problem. No adhesion problems, never had to do any prep for the bed besides the occasional wipe with isopropyl. But the recommended material for doing these prints is PETG. I went to my local store that sells filament and picked up 2 spools.

First problem i noticed was that the prints were nearly fusing themselves to the bed. Unfortunately i didnt read up on PETG before i started printing, i see on Prusa's website they recommend wiping down the bed with windex before printing. The print i did took a chunk out of my bed, that was my bad. But i did a few more prints with the windex, i even used the Live Z Adjust setting to raise my Z axis height like somebody suggested. Now i have more chunks missing out of my bed, it helped but not enough. Yes im waiting for the bed to cool before removing. And the print quality... sucks. I was using the settings for Prusament PETG, i believe 240 for first layer and 250 for the rest, which matched the box of filament i have. I get a ton of stringing, and in some of the earlier prints random chunks would be missing from the final piece.