Notifications
Clear all

Sanity Check on Supports  

RSS
BRSlicer
(@brslicer)
Trusted Member
Sanity Check on Supports

Hi, I've got several years of experience with 3d printing.  However, I've always had bad experiences with designs that require supports.

However, I see many designs shared that require supports and nobody ever mentions them.  A lot of the designs could be re-done to not require the supports as well.

Am I unique in my bad experiences with supports? 

I have used an older Makerbot (at the office) and I have an MK3.  I have used PLA and most recently tried PETG.  I have tried using default settings, and I have tried fiddling with them myself.  I have tried Simplify 3D.  My experience with supports is that they turn a design into a very low chance of a successful print for me (using FDM) without a significant amount of extra effort and failures.

I appreciate honest answers and I hope I don't come off as trying to start some sort of flame war.

If anyone reading this doesn't mind, another question:  Is multimaterial with a dissolvable support material a magic bullet for support issues?  Just looking for personal experiences from users in the Prusa family.  Just looking for a nudge to see whether it is worth pursuing.

Thank you!

Posted : 07/07/2020 5:13 pm
Neophyl
(@neophyl)
Illustrious Member
RE: Sanity Check on Supports