Notifications
Clear all

‘PRUSA’ badge looks messy  

RSS
Matthew
(@matthew-4)
‘PRUSA’ badge looks messy

Hi, as a complete newbie to 3D printing, and since building my mk3s from a kit over last weekend I have been calibrating it and producing some test prints. I am not quite sure what I am looking at, so any advice would be appreciated.

The attached photos are of my latest attempt, with a Z setting of 0.595. I am confused, because the back suggests the nozzle is a little high as it is not quite filled in, but when I look at the top, it doesn’t look like any of the online photo’s I have seen. I’m not sure of the right language to use, but I would describe it as messy. Is this how the print should turn out? If so, what can I adjust to improve the quality?

Posted : 29/07/2019 9:02 pm
--
 --
(@)
Illustrious Member
RE: ‘PRUSA’ badge looks messy

Layer one is much too high... start there.

I can't even guess what is happening on the inner and top layers.   

Did you run the calibration wizard that is presented on initial power-up?  Did the calibrations all complete and self tests all pass? 

fyi: layer one is just a platform the other layers build on. If layer one sticks, layer two normally goes down and is mostly unaffected by what layer one looks like. By the time you get to layer 5 everything below is a don't care.  So why the upper layers look so bad is a mystery at this point.  

Did you by chance disassemble the hot end (the nozzle and heat sink with wires coming out of it) then put it back together when making the kit?   

Posted : 29/07/2019 9:21 pm
Matthew
(@matthew-4)
Topic starter answered:

Hi,

thanks for the quick response. I’ve increased the First Layer Calibration to 650 and it definitely looks better, although I think it could still go lower. 

Ive also included some shots as it was printing the middle layers, and on these you can see how rough it is as it is building up the layers.

What is still really rough is the final print.