Notifications
Clear all

Just got my built PRUSA i3 MK3.. complete from the box.  

RSS
DallasNic
(@dallasnic)
Just got my built PRUSA i3 MK3.. complete from the box.

It took a bit, but I did get it connected and printed the batman logo provided the card. The bottom half was a mess but it seem to catch up and build the top very well. I tried printing something from Thingiverse.. and immediately the fail began. It seem to start.. I walk away, came back to a small rats nest underneath. I tried several times, after cleaning up.. I tried wiping the bed a couple times, flip the bed.. tried going back to the batman logo that printed-ish the first time.. and the fail continued and worse. I can get about 5-20 seconds of adhesion then it will pop off the bed and start the rats nest. I AM A TOTAL NEWBIE... sorry, I am smart but this isnt solved without help.

Posted : 16/04/2021 11:59 pm
Dan Rogers
(@dan-rogers)
Noble Member
RE: Just got my built PRUSA i3 MK3.. complete from the box.

Looks like you might have skipped a few first-steps 😉

Do a first layer calibration.  Your goal is to get a perfect square.  During calibration you will  have to learn how to set Live-z. It will take a few repeat tries before you have the height dialed in.  Lots of how to here on live-z adjustment - it is your path out of the spaghetti bowl.

Posted : 17/04/2021 3:01 am
richnormand
(@richnormand)
Estimable Member

I built mine from the kit (amazing instruction book BTW)  and did the full calibration and... got adhesion and issues similar to you on the initial trials.

The solution was to wash the plate with dishwasher soap and dry it. Looked at the PINDA height. Redid the first layer calibration until I was happy with the pattern and it was all OK from then on. I suspect the base plate was not that clean initially.

REPAIR, RENEW, REUSE, RECYCLE, REBUILD, REDUCE, RECOVER, REPURPOSE, RESTORE

Posted : 17/04/2021 3:39 am
DallasNic
(@dallasnic)
Topic starter answered:

@dan-rogers