Notifications
Clear all

New to me MK2.5S  

RSS
Humanshield
(@humanshield)
New to me MK2.5S

So I am new to 3d Printing, I bought my first 3d Printer during the Covid lockdown as something to do to pass the time (Prusa Mini - Awesome machine).    I am hooked.  I found a deal (or so I thought) on a what was sold as a Prusa MK2 on an auction site.  I am only into it for $250 so it wasn't bad.  Fedex was a bit rough and it showed up with a bunch of broken parts (all plastics).  The pics from the auction showed these parts as in tact.  So I am fairly sure it happened during shipping.  I found it awesome that Prusa offered models for all the parts on the website.  So I fired up my Mini to patch up my new Mk2.  While sorting out what parts I needed it seems it has been upgraded to a MK2.5 S.  many of the parts I had to look at that model to get "matching" for the broken parts where in the 2.5 and 2.5S archives.  It does also have a 2.5S firmware on it.  

So after all assembled, I had one successful print (Benchy).  Did a firmware upgrade which seemed to go fine.  The next print gave me a thermal runaway.  I started watching closer.  And I seem to be having an issue I saw many users posting about at various sites.  When the cooling fan kicks on after the first layer it drops the print head temp quickly.  Leading to the thermal runaway.  I have ordered some of the E3d socks as many folks report that as a solution.  Is that the only solution?  Perhaps a redesigned fan shroud?  Looks like maybe some folks got a higher wattage heater?  Looking for some community guidance from some folks that may have dealt with this.

Thanks!

3D Printing Newb

Posted : 27/01/2021 1:26 pm
GunnerP
(@gunnerp)
Eminent Member
RE: New to me MK2.5S