Notifications
Clear all

What causes these holes on walls?  

RSS
ChrisP
(@chrisp)
What causes these holes on walls?

This is Prusament ASA and I am getting a lot of pits/holes on the side walls as you can see in this picture.

What is the reason for this?

Posted : 25/02/2021 8:46 am
Diem
 Diem
(@diem)
Illustrious Member
RE: What causes these holes on walls?

This might be a filament problem.  It doesn't look like the classic damp filament flow interruptions but if there were popping or fizzing sounds during the print try drying it; I've no experience with damp ASA so I'm unsure of the diagnosis.

The nearest to this I have seen was caused when a certain young lady spilled milk (I think) on a spool of PLA without telling me but that discoloured around the bad adhesion spots which also were bigger.  If you had a light splatter of something onto a spool that interfered with layer adhesion it might look something like this.  Try a different spool of filament to see if it recurs.

Cheerio,

Posted : 25/02/2021 5:55 pm
ChrisP
(@chrisp)
Topic starter answered:

@diem

Hi and thank you for your insight! I am relatively new to 3d printing (got the mini+ and filament at the end of january) and wanted to avoid issues by getting the more expensive prusament.

I had fizzing and popping sounds with this white asa ever since I opened the originally packed spool about 3 weeks ago ☹️ and no, it never got wet. It has been in a closet and in a zipped bag (when not in use)

I guess i will have to look into how to dry it?

But it still makes me sad that i guess the quality is not that great?

Posted : 25/02/2021 6:17 pm
ChrisP
(@chrisp)
Topic starter answered:

@diem

Oh and may I ask how long a spool of PLA or ASA can usually be exposed to the open air before going "bad"? 

Can it be "wet" just because of not being in a vacuum sealed bag for about 3 weeks?

Posted : 25/02/2021 6:27 pm
karl-herbert
(@karl-herbert)
Illustrious Member

@chrisp