Clear all

Noob needs help to make the ears attached to a dog's head  

RSS
AnaA
 AnaA
(@anaa)
Noob needs help to make the ears attached to a dog's head

I want to print this bull terrier https://www.thingiverse.com/thing:4197379
I keep having the same problem, the ears don't attach properly to the head and when I remove the supports they fall off 
I tried two different supports setup, everywhere and just on the build plate, the result was the same on both.

I'm printing on a prusa mini, 0.15mm and 15% infill, Prusament PLA

Can someone help me figure this out? I don't know if this is a support problem or anything else, I am new to the 3d printing world

Posted : 18/11/2020 2:30 pm
JoanTabb
(@joantabb)
Veteran Member Moderator
RE: Noob needs help to make the ears attached to a dog's head

Hi Ana, 

this is an interesting problem.

First I tried to slice this model in the new Prusa Slicer 2.3.0 Alpha3 and FAILED MISERABLY...   Lol... 

the first issue was that Prusa slicer reported errors in the STL.
See the orange triangle hilighted in the top picture on the image below

Once  I clicked on the orange triangle, and let Netfabb complete repairs, I sliced the model, and found vast parts of the dog to be missing...  

I will escalate this with Prusa.... 

SO I switched back to Prusa Slicer 2.2.0 (the latest full release)
as you can see, the Orange triangle is still there... and If I slice the file, the ears are barely connected to the body

However after using netfabb to repair the STL, the lower image shows that the model slices with the ears attached. 

so short response, the STL is faulty...  use netfabb to repair it! (or any tool you prefer)

regards Joan

I try to make safe suggestions,You should understand the context and ensure you are happy that they are safe before attempting to apply my suggestions, what you do, is YOUR responsibility. Location Halifax UK

Posted : 18/11/2020 6:10 pm
--
 --
(@)
Illustrious Member