Clear all

Help Please RE: Printing a Small Rectangular Tube  

Page 1 / 2
  RSS
billvitez96
(@billvitez96)
Help Please RE: Printing a Small Rectangular Tube

Hi All,

I just calibrated my Mini which is my first ever 3D Printer.

I have a 10 X 20mm speaker and want to print a rectangular tube for it to fit on to make it both louder and deeper in tone (basically a sonic wave guide). 

Please point me in the direction of free CAD software that is object scale-able and existing models that I can adapt in CAD.

Please bear in mind that I am a noob so explain it to me like I was a 3-year old.

Thank You All in Advance!

Bill

Posted : 06/08/2020 1:05 am
Crawlerin
(@crawlerin)
Prominent Member
RE: Help Please RE: Printing a Small Rectangular Tube

If you do not have any experience with CAD software, I'd suggest you start with TinkerCad. It's free and interface runs in your browser. You will need to create Autodesk account. They have few lectures right in there which will teach you basic object manipulation while creating few more or less complex models. In TinkerCad you will be able to modify existing models exported in STL file format, but I'd say it may be just easier designing your own form scratch, it's very intuitive and simple to use.

Another free and popular program is Fusion 360 also from Autodesk. This one is fully-fledged 3D designing suite, and has a bit steeper learning curve. I suggest looking up few video lectures on Youtube or Udemy (Learn Fusion 360 Or Die Trying, or those from Product Design Online). Hobbyists license is free of charge.

This post was modified 4 years ago by Crawlerin
Posted : 06/08/2020 1:10 pm
jsw
 jsw
(@jsw)
Famed Member

I've had very good luck with FreeCad over a number of years now.  It's available for all of the common platforms and reasonably stable.

There are tons of options and it may seem overwhelming at first, but it's relatively easy to learn, particularly if you have any 2d CAD experience.