Gaps between printed traces: Why & How to eliminate?

Notifications
Clear all

RSS
SeattleDavid
(@seattledavid)
Estimable Member

I am using a 0.6mm nozzle and the printer is set up using the Prusa profile for a 0.3mm nozzle, with minimal changes.

When I print, the extrusion lines do not connect, and there are gaps between them. It looks like there is just not enough material being fed through the extruder/feeder.

I initially assumed that it might be a Z-Axis alignment, so I went through the setup wizard again...and got a perfect flat, connected square. So I don't think it is the Z-axis alignment (unless that is somehow affected somewhere else.)

I am new to the Prusa Mini, and it could be that I am missing something very basic.

Here is what the first layer looks like:

Here are the extrusion settings:

Thoughts or advice on what may be happening?

Posted : 11/10/2020 9:48 pm
bobstro
(@bobstro)
Illustrious Member
RE: Gaps between printed traces: Why & How to eliminate?

You are pushing a lot more filament as you go up in size. Make sure the hotend can melt and push plastic quickly enough. As a quick test, try the same print and dial speeds back 50% with the front knob. If that helps, reduce speeds or max. volumetric speed. If not, then start checking other settings.

My notes and disclaimers on 3D printing

and miscellaneous other tech projects
He is intelligent, but not experienced. His pattern indicates two dimensional thinking. -- Spock in Star Trek: The Wrath of Khan

Posted : 11/10/2020 10:49 pm
SeattleDavid
(@seattledavid)
Estimable Member
Topic starter answered:

I can certainly spend my day becoming a research associate. But considering that I am using ALL DEFAULT Prusa settings for the Prusa 0.6mm nozzle on the mini, would this really be a reasonable next step? Wouldn't Prusa have actually done at least a little bit of that homework?