Notifications
Clear all

Beginner: Consistent problems with Filamentum Crystal Clear PLA on Prusa Mini  

Page 1 / 2
  RSS
Randy
(@randy)
Beginner: Consistent problems with Filamentum Crystal Clear PLA on Prusa Mini

I'm a beginner with a Prusa Mini.  I've done the included prints and starting to venture into other PLAs. 

However, I'm having big problems with one kind of PLA:  Filamentum Crystal Clear.   Here's a link to the Prusa store where I bought it.
https://shop.prusa3d.com/en/filament/221-pla-crystal-clear-iceland-blue-750g.html

The other Prusaments PLAs are just fine.  But this one keeps having consistent problems where you get the "clicking" sound and the nozzle clogs.  I've attached a screenshot of the issue.

I've had this happen two times now.  To clean it out this time, I did a cold pull (my first!). 

I've also seen this reddit thread that talks about the same problem:  https://www.reddit.com/r/FixMyPrint/comments/bvk5fc/struggling_to_print_filamentum_crystal_clear_pla/

This PLA looks *really* cool.  I've gotten one print off of it but 1 out of 3 isn't so good.  Any help for a beginner? 

Best Answer by Dan Rogers:

I have had a learning curve with Filamentum filaments.  There are not profiles for them and there needs to be (I don't know how to make one yet).

The fix for working with Filamentum filaments is lowering the heat-block temperature.  The 215 to 200 range is too hot.  What seems to happen is that heat is too high and the filament softens partially - causing the gears to click.  I first discovered this while printing clear snowflakes - and had the door on my enclosure closed.  That was just enough at the prusa and generic PLA settings to build up too much and the clicking starts within a few minutes.