Laptop requirements for running Prusa Slicer and Fusion 360 programs

Notifications
Clear all

RSS
mad_madam_mim
(@mad_madam_mim)

I am new to 3D printing and ordered a Mini+ a few days ago. I have an older HP Pro Book and I'm not sure it will run the programs required to use my printer. I'm looking for suggestions on either certain laptops and/or computer specs that will run Prusa Slicer and Fusion 360 programs well. I appreciate any and all suggestions and I'm looking forward to interacting with everyone on the forum.

Posted : 24/04/2021 5:09 am
Judas
(@judas)
Trusted Member
RE: Laptop requirements for running Prusa Slicer and Fusion 360 programs

The system requirements page for Fusion 360 claims it can run on a not very fancy system. My laptop is way above those requirements, but the thing that makes Fusion run better is when you actually figure out how to model things properly. I would suggest double those requirements that they mention honestly unless you don't mind waiting when the program freezes. It can really suck when you haven't saved your design and it freezes badly though. What are the specs on your current computer? https://knowledge.autodesk.com/support/fusion-360/troubleshooting/caas/sfdcarticles/sfdcarticles/System-requirements-for-Autodesk-Fusion-360.html

Posted : 24/04/2021 5:40 am
mad_madam_mim
(@mad_madam_mim)
Topic starter answered:

Processor is Intel i5-4300U @ 1.9 GHz 2.50GHz

Ram 8 GB

100 GB hard drive

No dedicated graphics card

I am worried about program freezing due to my laptop’s age, also my screen is only 13 or so inches. 

Posted : 24/04/2021 6:01 am
Diem
 Diem
(@diem)
Illustrious Member

You don't mention which operating system(s) you are using.