Clear all

Trouble printing PETG  

Page 1 / 2
  RSS
BobinAtlanta
(@bobinatlanta)
Trusted Member
Trouble printing PETG

My i3 ML3S prints every filament very nicely except PETG which very often makes a strange lump of plastic usually on the first layer (sometimes later too) which then catches the tip causing a skip.  Where does the lump come from and how do I resolve this?  I believe i read that Prusa parts are PETG, so there MUST be a setting i need to change.  

Thank you for your suggestions!

Bob

Posted : 10/09/2020 8:52 pm
mjlewis37
(@mjlewis37)
Trusted Member
RE: Trouble printing PETG

PETG is some sticky, oozy stuff, that's for sure. I'm new to it too, but am getting good prints now. I have an i3 MK3. Textured powder coated PEI sheet.

It sticks to brass and aluminum very well, I quickly got into the habit of brass brushing the nozzle and heatblock before every print. I got an E3D nickel plated copper nozzle and the PETG does not stick to that well. I still watch the nozzle b4 the print and take off as much oozing as I can using copper tongs so as not to hurt the nickel plating.

Settings that I think have helped. I started with the Prusament PETG profile and changed:

Retraction: 2mm

Retraction speed: 50mm/sec

Z hop: still .6mm

First layer speed: 10mm/sec (am toying with 20mm/sec)

Lowered just about all of the faster move speeds to 40mm/sec, even on infills for now. I'll try attaching a pic on my next post of the settings for clarity. Left travel speed at 180mm/sec

Best wishes!

This post was modified 4 years ago by mjlewis37
Posted : 11/09/2020 3:36 am
mjlewis37
(@mjlewis37)
Trusted Member

Posted : 11/09/2020 3:51 am
mjlewis37
(@mjlewis37)
Trusted Member

Oh, and make sure your live z is set well for PETG. If you haven't already, do a first layer calibration and make sure you are laying down a good bead of PETG that you can't easily scratch off with your fingernail.

Posted : 11/09/2020 3:57 am
BobinAtlanta
(@bobinatlanta)
Trusted Member